So, You Are Going To Be A Biker … ?

Free Case Evaluation

Get Started

honda-motorcycle-headlight-869232-mIf you want to operate a motorcycle in the state of Florida, there are certain requirements that you will have to meet.  The most important thing is that you are licensed to do so.  Obtaining a motorcycle license involves a process similar to earning a regular driver’s license, but there are special requirements.

In order to take your two-wheeler out on Florida roads, you will need a Class E driver license, which also means that you will have to be at least 16 years old and you will have to take part in a Basic Riding Course.  This course is generally between 15 and 28 hours, depending on the institution offering it.  It may be possible to waive this requirement if you have already passed an ERC class.  In order to earn the Class E license, you will need to pass a written examination and road test. There are no temporary learning permits offered, so the training comes in the form of the Basic Riding Course.

It is also important to note that those under the age of 21 will be required to wear a helmet.  This is a wise practice for all riders.  Throughout the United States, 1,800 lives were saved as a result of wearing a helmet in one year’s time.  Another 800 might have been that fortunate had they chosen to wear one.  You must ask yourself if it is worth risking your life, worth risking the happiness of your loved ones in Saint Petersburg, for the feel of the wind in your hair.  It should also be noted that choosing to go without a helmet requires the ownership of a medical insurance policy of $10,000 or more. 

In addition to the written exam and the road test, you will have to prove your ability to hear and see clearly.  The eye exam and hearing test are standard procedures prior to issuance of Class E licenses for obvious reasons.  With a hearing or sight impairment, a person cannot safely navigate the roads on a bike.

Are you moving to Florida from out of state?  If you already have a current Class E license from one of the other 49 states, you can get your Florida license with little effort.  Those under the age of 21 will be required to take a driving safety course.  Those over the specified age limit can either take such a course or pass the Florida state motorcycle knowledge and skills test.

If you are a licensed rider, then legally, you are ready to ride.  However, there are a few things that you should do to minimize your risk of a St. Petersburg accident.  Wear a helmet and cover as much skin as possible with heavy duty material to prevent road rash in the event of an accident.  It is also wise to regularly check your motorcycle for mechanical issues.  How is the tire pressure?  Does it need an oil change?  Are there any strange sounds, movements, or catches when operating it?  Taking time to maintain the bike is essential to maintaining your safety on the road.

Remember, the choices you make as a biker do not impact only you.  Of course, your loved ones will be directly impacted should you be seriously injured or killed in a crash, but you could also cause harm to others on the road, which would mean facing a personal injury attorney in court.  Be safe, make wise decisions, and obey the laws so you can enjoy a great ride each and every time.